## CONTRA COSTA LOCAL AGENCY FORMATION COMMISSION MINUTES OF MEETING

#### February 11, 2015

## Board of Supervisors Chambers Martinez, CA

- 1. Chair Rob Schroder called the meeting to order at 1:30 p.m.
- 2. The Pledge of Allegiance was recited.
- 3. Roll was called. A quorum was present of the following Commissioners:

City Members Rob Schroder and Don Tatzin.

County Members Federal Glover, Mary Piepho and Alternate Candace Andersen. Special District Members Michael McGill and Igor Skaredoff and Alternate George Schmidt. Public Members Don Blubaugh and Alternate Sharon Burke.

Present were Executive Officer Lou Ann Texeira, Legal Counsel Sharon Anderson, and Clerk Kate Sibley.

4. <u>Approval of the Agenda</u>

Upon motion of Tatzin, second by Piepho, Commissioners, by a vote of 7-0, adopted the agenda.

AYES:	Blubaugh, Glover, McGill, Piepho, Schroder, Skaredoff, Tatzin
NOES:	none
ABSENT:	Butt (A)
ABSTAIN:	none

Public Comments

There were no public comments.

5. Approval of January 14, 2015 Meeting Minutes

Upon motion of Piepho, second by Blubaugh, the minutes were approved by a vote of 7-0.

AYES:	Blubaugh, Glover, McGill, Piepho, Schroder, Skaredoff, Tatzin
NOES:	none
ABSENT:	Butt (A)
ABSTAIN:	none

## 6. <u>LAFCO 14-05 - Reorganization 186 (Magee Ranch/SummerHill): Annexations to CCCSD and</u> <u>EBMUD</u>

The Executive Officer reported that this proposal to annex to both CCCSD and EBMUD a total of  $410\pm$  acres,  $40\pm$  acres (ten parcels) of which will become a 69-lot single family subdivision, had been continued from the January 2015 meeting.

Staff highlighted additional information included in the staff report, touching on three points: the Town of Danville's EIR and the related lawsuit; timely availability of water and the timing of approvals from the US Bureau of Reclamation; and a summary of correspondence received and communication with affected and interested parties.

The public hearing was reopened.

Patricia Isom, with Save Open Space Danville (SOS Danville), endorsed continuance of this item.

Maryann Cella, also with SOS Danville, endorsed continuance and asked Commissioners to pose certain questions to both CCCSD and EBMUD. Further, Ms. Cella felt that CCCSD should, and perhaps would, withdraw its application.

Suzanne Hill, also a member of SOS Danville, also encouraged Commissioners to continue this item.

Russ Leavitt, representing CCCSD, concurred with the continuance request.

Upon motion of McGill, second by Blubaugh, Commissioners unanimously, by a 7-0 vote, kept the public hearing open and continued it to the May 13, 2015 meeting.

AYES:	Blubaugh, Glover, McGill, Piepho, Schroder, Skaredoff, Tatzin
NOES:	none
ABSENT:	Butt (A)
ABSTAIN:	none

7. Fiscal Year 2015-16 Budget Schedule/Work Plan Preview

The Executive Officer reported that staff is preparing for the annual budget cycle, which includes presenting to the Commission a proposed budget in March and a final budget in May. Possible projects could be another second round MSR, continued work on policies and procedures, and continued work on island annexations. Commissioners Burke and Tatzin commented on the status of the agriculture & open space policy work. There was interest in workshops on agriculture and open space land preservation as well as broadband services.

Commissioners discussed options and agreed that the two workshops suggested should be included in the work plan, and there should be funds designated for an MSR. There was also discussion of SB 244 and LAFCO's work on Disadvantaged Unincorporated Communities (DUCs).

Commissioners received the report and directed staff to prepare a draft budget for presentation at the March 11, 2015 meeting.

# 8. <u>Notification of Nominations - 2015 Special Districts Risk Management Authority (SDRMA)</u> <u>Board of Directors</u>

The Executive Officer presented materials from the SDRMA announcing the procedures and timeline for nominations to the Board of Directors. No nominations were submitted.

Commissioner Skaredoff suggested that this opportunity be presented to the Contra Costa Special Districts Association.

# 9. Executive Officer's (EO) Performance Review and Compensation

Chair Schroder reported that following the January 14, 2015 closed session regarding compensation for the LAFCO Executive Officer, he had provided the EO with the positive feedback from their annual review, and recommended a 4% increase to the EO's base salary.

Upon motion of Blubaugh, second by Piepho, Commissioners unanimously, by a 7-0 vote, approved the 4% increase to the Executive Officer's base salary, effective January 1, 2015.

AYES:	Blubaugh, Glover, McGill, Piepho, Schroder, Skaredoff, Tatzin
NOES:	none
ABSENT:	Butt (A)
ABSTAIN:	none

#### 10. Correspondence from CCCERA

There were no comments on this item.

11. Commissioner Comments and Announcements

Commissioner McGill announced that he attended the CALAFCO Legislative Committee meeting on January 23, the CALAFCO Board retreat on January 29, and the Board meeting on January 30. Commissioner There is another Legislative Committee meeting on February 27, when they will continue discussion of legislation for disincorporation of cities, LAFCO's access to records from Joint Power Authorities, and out of agency service.

Commissioner Tatzin asked staff if in future they could take steps to ensure they have full information on any outstanding litigation regarding applications.

Commissioner Skaredoff reported on the Contra Costa Special Districts Association meeting that was held on Monday, January 26. They discussed transparency and "districts of distinction" and finding ways to help some of the smaller districts. Commissioner Skaredoff also just returned from the National Association of Conservation Districts meeting in New Orleans. He is the Western Region representative to their Urban and Community Resource Policy Group. There is a lot of interest in the urban interface.

12. Staff Announcements and Pending Projects

The Executive Officer reported that she had nothing to report.

The meeting was adjourned at 2:08 p.m.

Final Minutes Approved by the Commission March 11, 2015.

AYES:Andersen (A), Burke (A), McGill, Schroder, Skaredoff, TatzinNOES:ABSTAIN:ABSENT:Blubaugh, Glover, Piepho (Members)

en min Executive Officer